Skip to main content

Ensemble Raro – Dohnanyi Dvorak Suk

Artists: Ensemble Raro

Title: Dohnanyi Dvorak Suk

Catalogue No.: SM 187

Release: 01.07.2013


Ensemble Raro joined forces with the violinist Andrej Bielow to record three jewels of the Romantic chamber repertoire – Antonin Dvorak’s Piano Quartet in E Flat Major, Erno Dohnanyi’s First Piano Quintet and Joseph Suk’s Elegie. The result leaves a singular impression on the listener. An unaffected sincerity of the five performers takes it’s roots from the profound respect they had developed for each other’s musical identity. Complete identification with the musical material coupled with truly Romantic imagination makes for a very fine listening experience.
Ensemble Raro was formed in 2004 by four extraordinary young musicians. Ensemble Raro is constantly looking for creative programme forms, in which they aim to establish new cultural, musical and literary connections. Raro is the ensemble in residence at the Chiemgauer Musikfrühling Festival in Traunstein, SoNoRo Festival in Bucharest, Kobe International Music Festival, Pelerinages in Munich and Mozartiade in Augsburg. They are actively involved in performing contemporary chamber music repertoire. They gave a British and German premieres of Peteris Vasks’s Piano Quartet. Their performances of Walter Braunfels’ and George Enescu’s works in Pelerinages series in Munich received a high critical acclaim.
When a new musician is being considered for the ensemble, personal compatibility is the criterion, not technique. That was the case with the Ukrainian violinist Andrej Bielow. “It was clear from the first note that we would play together,” says Diana Ketler, “because he can completely open himself emotionally – to his colleagues, to the audience, to the music.”


Piano Quintet in C minor, Op. 1 [28:56]
1. Allegro (8:19)
2. Scherzo. Allegro vivace (4:36)
3. Adagio, quasi andante (7:43)
4. Finale. Allegro animato (8:07)

Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op. 87 [36:35]
5. Allegro con fuoco (8:41)
6. Lento (10:09)
7. Allegro moderato, grazioso (7:41)
8. Finale. Allegro ma non troppo (9:52)

9. Elegie Op. 23 for Piano trio
Adagio [5:56]

TT 71:45