Skip to main content

Bozo Paradzik – Double Bass goes Beethoven

Artists: Bozo Paradzik

Title: Double Bass goes Beethoven – Beethoven Cello Sonatas with Double Bass Vol. 1

Catalogue No.: SM 162

Release: 14.11.2011



In 1799 Beethoven himself played the piano part in his Sonata in G minor, Opus 5, no. 2 with the greatest double bass player of the day, Domenico Dragonetti. This fact made a strong impression on me even as a boy, and I dreamed that one day I too might play a Beethoven sonata on the double bass.
Beethoven’s work decisively shaped my musical development and career. I was sixteen years old when I first played a Beethoven symphony, his Seventh, in an orchestra. His music moved me profoundly, and I began to fall utterly and passionately in love with it.

Because of their high level of musical sophistication and the technical difficulties they pose, Beethoven’s works present a formidable challenge to any interpreter. For me, with my innate tendency to perfectionism, there was no question of a superficial approach to the sonatas. Accordingly, even after my first success playing Beethoven’s Sonata in A major, Opus 69 on the double bass in the year 2000, I immersed myself deeply in the details of style and technique and in perfecting my approach, until I arrived at the present outcome. Only at this point, after more than ten years, did I feel that I was sufficiently mature to take on this great project and realize my dream. I was now ready to perform all of Beethoven’s cello sonatas on the double bass.

I hope many people will experience my interpretation of these sublime works as a personal and enriching gift that enables them to feel this music even more profoundly than before.


Beethoven Sonata F major op. 5, No. 1
with Hansjacob Staemmler (piano)1. Adagio sostenuto 03:11
2. Allegro 15:41
3. Rondo. Allegro vivace 07:21

Beethoven Sonata A major op. 69
with Ulrich Rademacher (piano)

4. Allegro ma non tanto 12:58
5. Scherzo. Allegro molto 05:20
6. Adagio cantabile 01:43
7. Allegro vivace 06:53

Beethoven Sonata D major op. 102, No. 2
with Maria Sofianska (piano)

8. Allegro 07:17
9. Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto 09:49
10. Allegro fugato 04:31