Skip to main content

Voyager Quartet – Boten der Liebe

Artist: Voyager Quartet

Title: Schubert – Boten der Liebe

Catalogue No.: SM 358

Release: 26.03.2021


A string quartet by Richard Wagner or Gustav Mahler? Isn’t that what the music world has always wanted? The Voyager Quartet goes on a soul-searching tour. From „Villa Wahnfried“, sounding love letters, coded messages and secret messages are delivered, written by Richard Wagner and Gustav Mahler, addressed to their muses Alma and Mathilde.

A psychogram in beguiling tones about the unspeakable in those days.

Andreas Höricht, violist of the quartet, who received the highest international acclaim for his transcription of Schubert’s „Winterreise for String Quartet“, goes one step further. Wagner’s Wesendonck Lieder, Mahler’s Piano Quartet, movements and fragments from his 5th and 10th symphonies are „recomposed“ for string quartet – the medium for spiritual messages.

Backcover & Playlist