Skip to main content

Ramón Ortega Quero – Luise Buchberger – Peter Kofler: Shadows

Title: Shadows

Catalogue No.: SM 142

Release: 18.10.2010


“I am recording this particular program because of my love to baroque music. When the possibility of the recording came, I just tried to find out my favourite pieces from the French and Italian Repertoire, and it came out on this really great combination. We record three Italian sonatas and three French pieces, trying to show the similarities and differences between both styles. In that time, musicians were already travelling around Europe searching for new style influences to enrich themselves and their art. All of the six pieces are perfect examples of the french and Italian style, with their particularities but also their common points.”
Ramón Ortega Quero

Ramón Ortega Quero received solid training from Miguel Quirós early on at the conservatory of his native city of Granada. Quero became a member of the Andalusian Youth Orchestra as a twelve-year-old. In 2003, the oboist cleared an important hurdle when conductor Daniel Barenboim accepted him as a member of the East-West Divan Orchestra. Since joining the orchestra, Ramón Ortega Quero has remained an enthusiastic member in rehearsal and at many concert appearances. Gregor Witt,Principal Oboe of Barenboim’s Berliner Staatskapelle, took the gifted young man under his wing and act as a mentor in his artistic development. One of Ramón Ortega Quero’s finest hours was winning First Prize at the ARD Music Competition held in Munich in September 2007. Members of the jury were thoroughly impressed by the inspiration and flawless play of the prize-winning soloist in both compulsory and optional pieces, including the Mozart and Richard Strauss concertos.Since Spring 2008, he has also been Principal Oboe of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under its Principal Conductor Mariss Jansons.


Suite VI in F minor for oboe and continuo – Charles Dieupart
01 Ouvertüre
02 Allemande
03 Courante
04 Sarabande
05 Gavotte
06 Menuett
07 Gigue

Sonata in G minor rv 28 – Antonio Vivaldi
08 Adagio
09 Allegro
10 Largo
11 Allegro

Sonata Terza E minor – Michel Blavet
12 Vivace
13 Largo poco andante
14 Allegro

Sonata Nona in g minor – Francesco Maria Veracini
15 Cantabile
16 Andante
17 Adagio
18 Allegro, ma affettuoso

Sonata Seconda in B minor – Michel Blavet
19 Andante spicato
20 Allegro
21 Minuetto

Sonata in C minor rv 53 – Antonio Vivaldi

22 Adagio
23 Allegro
24 Andante
25 Allegro