Skip to main content

Philip A. Draganov – The Violin Battle

Title: The Violin Battle

Catalogue No.: SM 267

Release: 24.02.2017


The advantages of old master violins against modern violins – or vice versa – is one of the most discussed issues in the world of string instruments. A year can barely pass without a new scientific study, in which they claim to be able to definitely prove which one is better. For the most part, these supposed sensations reveal only one dimensional thinking, which can hardly ever be appropriate when defining a such complex phenomenon as a string instrument. The situation is absurd and confusing, because nothing is more vague than the price to sound ratio with stringed instruments. The more expensive an instrument is, the more irrational the opinion. The motto is: Close your eyes and listen carefully, because blind tests can sometimes lead to quite amazing, almost unmasking results.
Hamburg born violinist and conductor, Philip A. Draganov, has enthralled audiences in Europe, Asia and the USA with his „impulsive virtuosity… and exuberant musical power” (Hamburger Abendblatt). He had his debut as soloist at the age of only twelve with the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra in the Laeiszhalle in Hamburg and has since enjoyed a multifaceted international career.In addition to solo performances, recitals and chamber music concerts, Draganov is regularly invited by major orchestras to perform as concertmaster or section leader. He has worked with conductors such as Günter Wand, Herbert Blomstedt, Bernard Haitink, Christoph von Dohnány, Michael Tilson Thomas, Christoph Eschenbach, Alan Gilbert, Sir Roger Norrington and Kent Nagano with various orchestras such as the NDR Symphony Orchestra/Hamburg or the Zurich Chamber Orchestra.
Draganov plays a violin made by the Italian violin maker Tomaso Balestrieri from 1769 and a violin from the German luthier Peter Greiner.


Partita No. 2 in D-Minor, BWV 1004 Johann Sebastian Bach
1 Allemanda 5:34 Johann Sebastian Bach
2 Corrente 2:43 Johann Sebastian Bach
3 Sarabanda 4:34 Johann Sebastian Bach
4 Giga 4:18 Johann Sebastian Bach
5 Ciaccona 13:58 Johann Sebastian Bach
Violin Sonata No. 3 “Ballade”  Eugène Ysaÿe
6 Violin Sonata No. 3 “Ballade” 7:31 Eugène Ysaÿe
Sonata No. 3 in C-Major, BWV 1005 Johann Sebastian Bach
7 Adagio 4:38 Johann Sebastian Bach
8 Fuga 10:23 Johann Sebastian Bach
9 Largo 3:47 Johann Sebastian Bach
10 Allegro assai 5:05 Johann Sebastian Bach