Skip to main content

Gehweiler / Cvirn: Sonaten Für Violoncello und Gitarre

Artists: Isabel Gehweiler / Aljaž Cvirn

Title: Sonaten Für Violoncello und Gitarre

Catalogue No.: SM 285

Release: 27.04.2018


The guitarist Aljaž Cvirn and cellist Isabel Gehweiler have been performing as a duo since 2016, making the cello-guitar repertoire known to a wider audience. Both musicians have won prizes in numerous competitions and triumphed together as a duo in the Paola Ruminelli Competition in 2017. The distinctive combination of the two instruments creates a magical, refined intimacy that is worthy of a chamber ensemble. Although original compositions are rare, a number of arrangements, including that of Franz Schubert’s Arpeggione Sonata for cello and guitar, have become staple pieces for the duo.

The duo’s current concert repertoire includes sonatas by Franz Schubert, Antonio Vivaldi and Radamés Gnattali. The two musicians approach the complex sonata genre from a great variety of stylistic angles, with their two instruments imparting a sea of tone colours on a comprehensive journey through different styles and performance practices.

Backcover & Playlist