Stradivari Quartett – Mozart – Preussische Quartette

Title: Mozart – Preussische Quartette

Catalogue No.: SM230

Release: 18.09.2015

Description

Mozart’s Prussian Quartets are not as Prussian as the title suggests. Despite assumptions about an explicit commission from the Prussian King Friedrich Wilhelm II, there is no evidence of this. The quartets were not even composed in Prussia. The Prussian Quartets are the last set of string quartets Mozart composed before his premature death. Although the set was planned to comprise six quartets, only three were published: K575 in D major, K589 in B flat major and K590 in F major. They were written in 1789 and 1790.

Since its debut in the Zurich Tonhalle in September 2007, the Stradivari Quartet has made a name for itself as an ensemble of great promise and become one of the leading Swiss string quartets. Some thirty performances a year take the Stradivari Quartet to venues all over the world. Highlights include appearances at the Wigmore Hall in London, the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the Kioi Hall in Tokyo, the Shanghai Oriental Hall and the National Center for Performing Arts in Beijing, as well as such prestigious events as the Lucerne Festival, the Bad Kissingen Summer Festival, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Rubinstein Piano Festival in Lódz, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and the Stradivari Festival in Cremona.

The Stradivari Quartet is among the few ensembles in the world performing exclusively on instruments of the famous violin maker Antonio Stradivari. Each of the four instruments has its own history and some have travelled far and wide. They are today all in the possession of the Habisreutinger Foundation and are on loan to the Stradivari Quartet.

Tracklist

1. I. Allegretto – Stradivari Quartett
2. Ii. Andante
3. Iii. Menuetto. Allegretto
4. Iv. Allegretto
5. I. Allegro – Stradivari Quartett
6. Ii. Larghetto
7. Iii. Menuetto. Moderato
8. Iv. Allegro Assai
9. I. Allegro Moderato – Stradivari Quartett
10. Ii. Andante
11. Iii. Menuetto. Allegretto
12. Iv. Allegro
Scroll Up

Stradivari Quartett – Mozart – Preussische Quartette

Künstler: Stradivari Quartett

Titel: Mozart – Preussische Quartette

Katalog Nr.: SM230

Veröffentlichung: 18.09.2015

Produktbeschreibung

Mozarts Preußische Quartette sind wohl weniger preußisch als man es aufgrund ihres Namens annehmen möchte. Weder liegt, wie oft angenommen, ein expliziter Auftrag des preußischen Königs Friedrich Wilhelm II. vor, noch wurden die Stücke in Preußen komponiert. Bei den Preußischen Quartetten handelt es sich um die letzte Serie der Gattung der Streichquartette, welche Mozart vor seinem frühen Tod komponierte. Die Serie, anfänglich sechsteilig geplant, umfasst schließlich nur drei Quartette: KV 575 in D-Dur, KV 589 in B-Dur und KV 590 in F-Dur. Sie entstanden in den Jahren 1789 und 1790.

Das Stradivari-Quartett hat sich seit seinem Debüt in der Zürcher Tonhalle im September 2007 einen Namen als aufstrebendes Ensemble gemacht und sich zu einem der führenden Schweizer Streichquartette entwickelt. Rund dreissig Auftritte im Jahr führen das Stradivari-Quartett um die ganze Welt. Auftritte in der Wigmore Hall London, dem Metropolitan Museum New York, der Kioi Hall Tokyo, der Shanghai Oriental Hall, dem National Center for Performing Arts Beijing; sowie Einladungen zu bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Lucerne Festival, dem Kissinger Sommer, dem Rheingau Musikfestival, dem Rubinstein Piano Festival in Lodz, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival und dem Stradivari Festival in Cremona zählen dabei zu den Höhepunkten.

Das Stradivari-Quartett zählt zu den wenigen Ensembles der Welt, welche ausschließlich auf Instrumenten des berühmten Geigenbauers Antonio Stradivari musizieren. Alle vier Instrumente haben eine eigene Geschichte und sind teilweise weit gereist. Heute befinden sie sich im Besitz der Habisreutinger Stiftung und werden als Leihgabe dem Stradivari Quartett zur Verfügung gestellt.

Tracklist

1. I. Allegretto – Stradivari Quartett
2. Ii. Andante
3. Iii. Menuetto. Allegretto
4. Iv. Allegretto
5. I. Allegro – Stradivari Quartett
6. Ii. Larghetto
7. Iii. Menuetto. Moderato
8. Iv. Allegro Assai
9. I. Allegro Moderato – Stradivari Quartett
10. Ii. Andante
11. Iii. Menuetto. Allegretto
12. Iv. Allegro
Scroll Up