Sinfonieorchester Basel – Of Madness and Love

Title: Of Madness and Love – Orchestral Works by Hector Berlioz Inspired by William Shakespeare

Catalogue No.: SOB 08

Release: 13.04.2015

Description

«My life is a novel which interests me very much», Hector Berlioz allegedly once said to a friend. For this reason in 1848 – at the age of 45 – he began writing his memoires. When the work was published posthumously in 1870 the public was astonished by the candour and literary prowess with which Berlioz described the course of his life.
Vesselina Kasarovawas born in Stara Zagora (Bulgaria) and began playing the piano at the age of four. After training as a concert pianist and gaining her diploma, she studied singing with Ressa Koleva at the Music Academy of Sofia, and was already as a student singing major roles at the National Opera. She has given concerts and recitals throughout Europe, the USA and Japan. Vesselina Kasarova holds the title Kammersängerin of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich as well as of the Vienna State Opera.
Ivor Boltonis chief conductor of the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, with whom he has appeared annually at the Salzburg Festival since 2000, and on tour (including at the 2006 BBC Proms in London), and with whom he has already built up an extensive discography including a critically successful series of Bruckner Symphony recordings. He will take up the position of Music Director of the Teatro Real Madrid in September 2015 and is also Chief Conductor of the Dresden Festival Orchestra.
The Sinfonieorchester Baselis one of the oldest and most important orchestras in Switzerland. It is rooted in the north-west of Switzerland and at the same time enjoys a more than regional as well as international radiance. The Sinfonieorchester Basel is always again demonstrating anew its excellent quality, whether it be in its own concert tiers, in the Theater Basel or in guest concerts at home or abroad.

Tracklist

– Grande Ouverture du Roi Lear
– Scène d’amour aus Roméo et Juliette (Symphonie dramatique)
– Rêverie et Caprice – Romanze für Violine und Orchester
– La mort de Cléopâtre – Scène lyrique für Sopran und Orchester
Scroll Up

Sinfonieorchester Basel – Of Madness and Love

Künstler: Sinfonieorchester Basel, Vesselina Kasarova, Ivor Bolton

Titel: Of Madness and Love – Orchestral Works by Hector Berlioz Inspired by William Shakespeare

Katalog Nr.: SOB 08

Veröffentlichung: 13.04.2015

 

Produktbeschreibung

«Mein Leben ist ein Roman, der mich sehr interessiert», soll Hector Berlioz einmal einem Freund gegenüber geäußert haben. Aus diesem Grund begann er bereits 1848 – im Alter von 45 Jahren – mit der Niederschrift seiner Memoiren. Als das Werk (Mémoires) 1870 posthum veröffentlicht wurde, staunte die Öffentlichkeit über die Offenheit und das literarische Niveau seiner Autobiografie.
Vesselina Kasarova wurde in Stara Zagora (Bulgarien) geboren und begann im Alter von vier Jahren mit dem Klavierspiel. Nach dem Konzertdiplom studierte sie Gesang bei Ressa Koleva an der Musikakademie von Sofia und trat schon als Studentin an der dortigen Nationaloper in größeren Rollen auf. Liederabende und Konzerte gab sie in allen wichtigen Konzerthäusern Europas, der Vereinigten Staaten und Japans. Vesselina Kasarova wurden die Titel Bayerische Kammer-sängerin und Österreichische Kammersängerin verliehen.
Ivor Bolton ist Chefdirigent beim Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, mit dem er seit 2000 jährlich bei den Salzburger Festspielen und auf Tourneen auftritt, so etwa 2006 bei den BBC Proms in London. Aus der beachtlichen Anzahl seiner CD-Veröffentlichungen ist vor allem die sehr erfolgreiche Reihe von Bruckner Sinfonien zu nennen. Ab September 2015 wird er die Position des Chefdirigenten am Teatro Real in Madrid einnehmen.
Das Sinfonieorchester Basel ist eines der ältesten und zugleich innovativsten Orchester der Schweiz. In der Nordwestschweiz verankert, geniesst es eine starke überregionale und internationale Ausstrahlung. In seinen eigenen Konzertreihen, im Theater Basel sowie bei Gastspielen im In- und Ausland beweist es immer wieder aufs Neue seine hohe Klangkultur.

Tracklist

– Grande Ouverture du Roi Lear
– Scène d’amour aus Roméo et Juliette (Symphonie dramatique)
– Rêverie et Caprice – Romanze für Violine und Orchester
– La mort de Cléopâtre – Scène lyrique für Sopran und Orchester
Scroll Up