Skip to main content

Eos Guitar Quartet – Live

Title: “Live”

Catalogue No.: 234200-12

Release: 09.02.2018


It doesn’t take much to image that the material on this CD could be an initiative launched by Swiss diplomats. A Swiss guitar quartet playing compositions by a Cuban and a American. For many years, relations between Cuba and the USA were not particularly friendly – until Barack Obama opened a new era of diplomacy between the two nations in 2016. As a neutral country, Switzerland has often erved as an intermediary between the United States and other countries.

But this is not about diplomacy. The Eos Guitar Quartet often performs works by Leo Brouwer and Ralph Towner and has commissioned these artists to compose original music for the quartet. Everyone knows and appreciates each other. And as a highly specialized chamber music ensemble, the Eos Guitar Quartet naturally tries to help expand the repertoire for such a formation.
This Performance of Gismontiana is a live recording of a concert featuring the Eos Guitar Quartet together with the Musikkollegium Winterthur conducted by composer Leo Brower. The Concert took place in the Stadthaus Winterthur, Switzerland.


Gismontiana Egberto Gismonti (*1947)/Leo Brouwer (*1939)
1 Frevo 5’18” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
2 Água e Vinho 6’41” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
3 Baião Malandro 5’23” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
4 A Fala da Paixão 7’20” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
5 Cadenza 4’09” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
6 Loro 5’37” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
Confluence Ralph Towner (*1940)
7 Waltz 7’30” Ralph Towner
8 Slow 5’18” Ralph Towner
9 Allegro 7’32” Ralph Towner