Skip to main content

La Cetra Consort – Italian Rococo at The Hermitage

Title: Italian Rococo at The Hermitage

Catalogue No.: SM 258

Release: 09.06.2017


In the 18th and 19th centuries, the Hermitage in St Petersburg not only housed famous art collections, which were made accessible to the public after the October Revolution, but also hosted glamorous musical events. Catherine the Great had the Hermitage Theatre built, which still stands to this day, and the operas that were magnificently staged there were central to courtly festivities.

The idea for this CD came in conjunction with Claire Genewein’s elevation to Doctor of Creative and Performing Arts at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands in June 2014. In her thesis, she showed that in 18th century Italy, instrumental music was rehearsed with the aid of textual reflections – a method which, over time, was almost completely lost and which is hardly practised today. This CD documents the tradition of the mutual interaction between vocal and instrumental music and makes this stimulating impetus audible.
La Cetra Consort consists of members of the La Cetra Baroque Orchestra Basel, who cultivate this genre within a smaller and more intimate setting. Claire Genewein works as a flautist in various ensembles such as La Cetra Baroque Orchestra Basel, L’Orfeo, Venice Baroque Orchestra, Il gusto barocco, L’Arcadia, and Ensemble Miroir.


Track Individual Titel Duration
Trio per il Flauto Traverso, Violino e Basso
1 Allegro moderato 6:16
2 Andante 2:12
3 Allegro 3:28
Concerto a quattro No. 1 g-moll
4 Grave e Adagio 2:36
5 Spirituoso 4:01
6 Allegro 3:29
Trio C-Major
7 Allegretto (Le un alma amante in Creso by Sacchini) 2:23
8 Larghetto (So che fedele in Creso by Sacchini) 3:10
9 Rondeau (Tergi il pianto in Creso by Sacchini) 2:03
Quatour No. 1 C-Dur für Streichquartett
10 Allegro 5:52
11 Rondo 4:00
Quartetto in G-Dur für Flöte, Violine, Viola und Cello
12 Allegro spirituoso 4:35
13 Minuetto Trio 1:50
Concerto per il Flauto, D-Majore
14 Ohne Bezeichnung 3:58
15 Adagio. piano sempre 4:56
16 Allegro assai 3:13