Skip to main content

Casal Quartett – Intenso

Artists: Casal Quartett

Title: Intenso

Catalogue No.: SM 139

Release: 18.10.2010


After their latest release “Birth of string quartet”, played on historical instruments andoverwhelmed with the highest ratings, the casalQuartett is now releasing a new CD called “Intenso”. This time in a very different way: it combines three of the most
expressive and challenging scores of 19, 20, and 21 Century on one CD. Ludwig van Beethoven eruptive “Serioso” Quartet Op 95, Leos Janacek’s harrowing drama of love, the “Kreutzer Sonata” and the limits of playability reaching “First Quartet “Burst rate” of the German Siemens Award winner Dieter Ammann.

All three composers were in their time and go to the pain threshold of the possible and feasible, and so compress their music to works beyond human imagination. The casalQuartett, the German newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung attests them “Chamber Music in age, intensity to the ends of the playable, passion, temperament, expression, and tonal variety”, extend their catalogue with “Intenso” with adding another exciting facet.


String Quartet op. 95 F-Major – Ludwig van Beethoven
01 Allegro con brio
02 Allegretto ma non troppo
03 Allegro assai vivace ma serioso
04 Larghetto espressivo. Allegretto agitato

String Quartet No. 1 – Leos Janacek

05 Adagio
06 Con moto
07 Con moto
08 Con moto

String Quartet No. 1 – “Geborstener Satz” – Dieter Ammann
09 Molto Ritmico