Elmira Darvarova

GRAMMY®-nominated, award-winning (Gold Medal at the Global Music Awards in 2017 and 2018) and a concert violinist since the age of four, Elmira Darvarova caused a sensation, becoming the first ever (and so far only) woman-concertmaster in the history of the Metropolitan Opera in New York. With the MET Orchestra she toured Europe, Japan and the United States, and was heard on the MET’s live weekly international radio broadcasts, television broadcasts and CDs for Sony, Deutsche Gramophone and EMI. As MET concertmaster she has performed with the greatest conductors of our time, including the legendary Carlos Kleiber. She studied with Yfrah Neaman, Josef Gingold and Henryk Szeryng.

She can be heard on numerous CDs (including the world premiere of Vernon Duke’s violin concerto with the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony, and a CD with music by René de Castéra, named a RECORD OF THE YEAR in 2015 by MusicWeb International). She has appeared on the stages of five continents and has performed concertos with numerous European and American orchestras. She has given master classes worldwide and has performed and recorded chamber music with Janos Starker, Gary Karr, Pascal Rogé, Vassily Lobanov, and Fernando Otero. A documentary film about her was shown on European television. She performs with the New York Piano Quartet, the Delphinium Trio, the Quinteto del Fuego and the Amram Ensemble, and is Jury President of several international chamber music competitions in Europe. She is Director of the New York Chamber Music Festival.

Praised by The Strad for her intoxicating tonal beauty and beguilingly sensuous phrasing” and “silky-smooth voluptuous tone”, she was featured in a Gramophone Magazine article about her world-premiere recording of Vernon Duke’s concerto (written for Heifetz in 1940).

Discography

Scroll Up

Elmira Darvarova

Die GRAMMY® nominierte und vielfach ausgezeichnete Künstlerin (Goldmedaille bei den Global Music Awards 2017 und 2018) ist seit ihrem vierten Lebensjahr Konzertgeigerin. Als erste (und bisher einzige) Konzertmeisterin in der Geschichte der Metropolitan Opera in New York sorgte sie für großes Aufsehen. Mit dem MET Orchestra tourte sie durch Europa, Japan und die Vereinigten Staaten und war live in den wöchentlichen internationalen Radio- und Fernsehsendungen des MET sowie auf CDs für Sony, die Deutsche Grammophon und EMI zu hören. Als Konzertmeisterin der MET spielte sie mit den größten Dirigenten unserer Zeit, darunter dem legendären Carlos Kleiber. Sie studierte bei Yfrah Neaman, Josef Gingold und Henryk Szeryng.

Sie ist auf zahlreichen CDs zu hören (u.a. bei der Erstaufnahme von Vernon Dukes Violinkonzert mit dem Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien und einer CD mit Kammermusik von René de Castéra, die von MusicWeb International als RECORDING OF THE YEAR 2015 benannt wurde). Sie trat auf den Bühnen von fünf Kontinenten auf und konzertierte mit zahlreichen europäischen und amerikanischen Orchestern. Sie gibt weltweit Meisterkurse und hat als Kammermusikerin mit Künstlern wie Janos Starker, Gary Karr, Pascal Rogé, Vassily Lobanov und Fernando Otero zusammengearbeitet. Im europäischen Fernsehen wurde darüber hinaus ein Dokumentarfilm über sie gezeigt. Sie tritt mit dem New York Piano Quartet, dem Delphinium Trio, dem Quinteto del Fuego und dem Amram Ensemble auf und ist Jurypräsidentin mehrerer internationaler Kammermusikwettbewerbe in Europa. Sie ist außerdem Direktorin des New Yorker Chamber Music Festival.

Von The STRAD wurde sie für ihre „berauschende Klangschönheit und betörend sinnliche Phrasierung“ sowie ihren „seidenweichen, sinnlichen Ton“ gepriesen. Das Gramophone Magazine widmete ihr einen Artikel über die Weltpremiere von Vernon Dukes Konzert (geschrieben für Heifetz 1940).

Diskografie

Scroll Up