Bozo Paradzik – Double Bass goes Beethoven

Artists: Bozo Paradzik

Title: Double Bass goes Beethoven – Beethoven Cello Sonatas with Double Bass Vol. 1

Catalogue No.: SM 162

Release: 14.11.2011

Description

WORLD PREMIER RECORDING OF ALL BEETHOVEN’S CELLO SONATAS ON DOUBLE BASS (Volume 1)

In 1799 Beethoven himself played the piano part in his Sonata in G minor, Opus 5, no. 2 with the greatest double bass player of the day, Domenico Dragonetti. This fact made a strong impression on me even as a boy, and I dreamed that one day I too might play a Beethoven sonata on the double bass.
Beethoven’s work decisively shaped my musical development and career. I was sixteen years old when I first played a Beethoven symphony, his Seventh, in an orchestra. His music moved me profoundly, and I began to fall utterly and passionately in love with it.

Because of their high level of musical sophistication and the technical difficulties they pose, Beethoven’s works present a formidable challenge to any interpreter. For me, with my innate tendency to perfectionism, there was no question of a superficial approach to the sonatas. Accordingly, even after my first success playing Beethoven’s Sonata in A major, Opus 69 on the double bass in the year 2000, I immersed myself deeply in the details of style and technique and in perfecting my approach, until I arrived at the present outcome. Only at this point, after more than ten years, did I feel that I was sufficiently mature to take on this great project and realize my dream. I was now ready to perform all of Beethoven’s cello sonatas on the double bass.

I hope many people will experience my interpretation of these sublime works as a personal and enriching gift that enables them to feel this music even more profoundly than before.

Tracklist

Beethoven Sonata F major op. 5, No. 1
with Hansjacob Staemmler (piano)1. Adagio sostenuto 03:11
2. Allegro 15:41
3. Rondo. Allegro vivace 07:21

Beethoven Sonata A major op. 69
with Ulrich Rademacher (piano)

4. Allegro ma non tanto 12:58
5. Scherzo. Allegro molto 05:20
6. Adagio cantabile 01:43
7. Allegro vivace 06:53

Beethoven Sonata D major op. 102, No. 2
with Maria Sofianska (piano)

8. Allegro 07:17
9. Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto 09:49
10. Allegro fugato 04:31

Scroll Up

Bozo Paradzik – Double Bass goes Beethoven

Künstler: Bozo Paradzik

Titel: Double Bass goes Beethoven – Beethoven Cello Sonatas with Double Bass Vol. 1

Katalog Nr.: SM 162

Veröffentlichung: 14.11.2011

Produktbeschreibung

WELTERSTEINSPIELUNG ALLER BEETHOVEN CELLO SONATEN MIT DEM KONTRABASS (Volume 1)

1799 spielte Beethoven  seine Sonate Opus 5, Nr. 2 in g-Moll selbst am Klavier – zusammen mit dem größten Kontrabassisten jener Zeit, Domenico Dragonetti. Diese Tatsache hat mich schon in meinen Jugendjahren beeindruckt, und seither träumte ich davon, auch selbst einmal eine Beethoven Sonate auf dem Kontrabass zu spielen.
Beethovens Schaffen prägte meine musikalische Entwicklung und Karriere entscheidend. Mit 16 Jahren spielte ich zum ersten Mal eine Beethoven Sinfonie im Orchester, seine Siebte.  Seine Musik berührte mich in meinem Innersten, und ich begann mich unendlich und leidenschaftlich in Beethovens Musik zu verlieben.

Aufgrund der spieltechnischen Schwierigkeiten und ihres hohen musikalischen Anspruchs  stellen Beethovens Werke für jeden Interpreten eine große Herausforderung dar. Für mein perfektionistisch veranlagtes Wesen kam eine oberflächliche Zuwendung zu den Sonaten nicht in Frage. So vertiefte ich mich auch noch nach dem ersten Erfolg mit Beethovens Sonate Opus 69 in A-Durmit dem Kontrabass im Jahre 2000 intensivste in stilistische und spieltechnische Details und die eigene Tongebung  – bis ich zu diesem heutigen Ergebnis gekommen bin. Erst jetzt, über zehn Jahre später fühlte ich mich reif genug, dieses große Projekt anzupacken und meinen Traum zu verwirklichen. Ich war bereit für die Aufführung der gesamten Cellosonaten Beethovens auf dem Kontrabass.
Ich hoffe, dass viele Menschen meine Interpretation dieser großartigen Werke als persönliches, bereicherndes Geschenk zum noch tieferen Erleben dieser Musik empfinden werden.

Tracklist

Beethoven Sonata F major op. 5, No. 1
with Hansjacob Staemmler (piano)1. Adagio sostenuto 03:11
2. Allegro 15:41
3. Rondo. Allegro vivace 07:21Beethoven Sonata A major op. 69
with Ulrich Rademacher (piano)

4. Allegro ma non tanto 12:58
5. Scherzo. Allegro molto 05:20
6. Adagio cantabile 01:43
7. Allegro vivace 06:53

Beethoven Sonata D major op. 102, No. 2
with Maria Sofianska (piano)

8. Allegro 07:17
9. Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto 09:49
10. Allegro fugato 04:31

Scroll Up