Zhen Chen

Hailed as “brilliant” by Fanfare Magazine, multi-award winning pianist-composer Zhen Chen has performed as a soloist and chamber music artist at prominent music venues in USA and China, such as Stern Auditorium, Weill Recital Hall of Carnegie Hall, David Geffen Hall of Lincoln Center, Preston Bradley Hall of the Chicago Cultural Center, and China National Centre for Performing Arts. His live performances and recordings have been broadcasted by Chicago WFMT 98.7, Princeton WPRB 103.3 WCNY Classic FM and China Central Television Music Channel among others.

Mr. Chen has worked with prominent violinists Maxim Vengerov, Cho-Liang Lin, Elmira Darvarova and outstanding instrumentalists of the New York Philharmonic and the Orchestra of Metropolitan Opera in concert and recording engagements. His debut recording FAURÉ, SCHUMANN, BARTÓK Sonatas for Violin and Piano (MSR Classics, 2014) in collaboration with acclaimed violinist Shuai Shi has received plaudits from listeners and critics worldwide. Fanfare Magazine describes the recording as “inexpressibly beautiful” and a “perfect balance” with “sheer beauty of tone, fluent and fluid playing, and emotional refinement.”

Mr. Chen also wears another hat as a performer-composer who bridges Eastern and Western sensibility and musicality. His recent cross-culture and cross-genre composition works were crystalized in the albums ERGO: New Music for Piano and Chinese Folk Instruments (Navona/Naxos, 2017) and On & Between: New Music for Pipa and Western Ensembles (Navona/Naxos, 2018). The latter won the Gold Medal of Global Music Awards for Best Album and Best Instrumentalists.

Mr. Chen received a bachelor’s degree in piano performance from Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing and a master’s degree in piano performance under Dr. Arkady Aronov at Manhattan School of Music in New York City, where he also earned a master’s degree in collaborative piano and chamber music with Heasook Rhee.

Discography

Scroll Up

Zhen Chen

Der mehrfach ausgezeichnete und vom Fanfare Magazine als „brillant“ gefeierte Pianist und Komponist Zhen Chen trat als Solist und Kammermusiker in prominenten Konzertsälen in den USA und China auf, darunter das Stern Auditorium, die Weill Recital Hall der Carnegie Hall, der David Geffen Hall des Lincoln Center, die Preston Bradley Hall des Chicago Cultural Center und das China National Centre for Performing Arts. Seine Live-Auftritte und Aufnahmen wurden unter anderem von Chicago WFMT 98.7, Princeton WPRB 103.3 und vom China Central Television Music Channel übertragen.

Herr Chen hat mit den angesehenen Geigern Maxim Vengerov, Cho-Liang Lin, Elmira Darvarova sowie herausragenden Künstlern der New Yorker Philharmoniker und des Metropolitan Opera Orchestra in Konzerten und Aufnahmen zusammengearbeitet. Sein Debütalbum FAURÉ, SCHUMANN, BARTÓK Sonatas for Violin and Piano (MSR Classics, 2014), das in Zusammenarbeit mit der renommierten Geigerin Shuai Shi entstand, wurde weltweit von Hörern und Kritikern gefeiert. Das Fanfare Magazine beschreibt die Aufnahme als „unaussprechlich schön“ mit einer „perfekten Balance von der Schönheit des Tones, fließendem und flüssigem Spiel und emotionaler Raffinesse“.

Herr Chen ist darüber hinaus als Komponist aktiv, der in seinen Werken östliche und westliche Sensibilität und Musikalität miteinander verbindet. Seine jüngsten kultur- und genreübergreifenden Kompositionsarbeiten kristallisieren sich in den Einspielungen ERGO: New Music for Piano and Chinese Folk Instruments (Navona/Naxos, 2017) und On & Between: New Music for Pipa and Western Ensembles (Navona/Naxos, 2018). Letzteres wurde bei den Global Music Awards mit der Goldmedaille in der Kategorie Best Album and Best Instrumentalists ausgezeichnet.

Herr Chen absolvierte seinen Bachelor in Klavierspiel am Central Conservatory of Music in Peking und den Master bei Dr. Arkady Aronov an der Manhattan School of Music in New York City, wo er auch den Master-Abschluss bei Heasook Rhee in Klavierbegleitung und Kammermusik erhielt.

Diskografie

Scroll Up