Neue Philharmonie Westfalen – Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5

Title: Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor in five movements for full orchestra

Catalogue No.: SM 160

Release: 14.11.2011

Description

The message was dismal and boded ill. Written at the beginning of the twentieth century, Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony began by burdening the beginning of the new age with a fateful omen in the first movement. A funeral march opens the work – uncanny, oppressive and almost totally lacking in the heroic pathos that had characterized the funeral march at the beginning of Mahler’s Second Symphony. The opening movement of the Fifth is dominated far more by the “self-pitying pogrom mood” , stemming from the bleak experience of having grown up in a ghetto, with which Alma Mahler often cynically described her husband’s frame of mind. The first people who heard the Fifth were disconcerted. “After the scherzo there were even hisses”, Mahler noted of the premiere, which took place under his direction in Cologne on October 18, 1904. Only the Adagietto, the fourth movement, received the unanimous approval of the audience and press from the beginning.

The New Philharmonic Orchestra of Westphalia was founded by a merger of two orchestras in the northern Ruhr area in 1996: the Westphalian Symphony Orchestra in Recklinghausen and the Philharmonic Orchestra in Gelsenkirchen.

The conductor Heiko Mathias Förster makes regular guest appearances with orchestras all over the world. The Israel Symphony Orchestra, the National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra, the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Berlin, the Orquesta Sinfónica del Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona and the Prague Symphony Orchestra are only a few of the ensembles Heiko Mathias Förster has conducted in recent years.

Tracklist

I. section – Trauermarsch

II. section Scherzo

III. section

III. section – Rondo-Finale

Scroll Up

Neue Philharmonie Westfalen – Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5

Titel: Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor in five movements for full orchestra

Katalog Nr.: SM 160

Veröffentlichung: 14.11.2011

Produktbeschreibung

Die Botschaft war düster und verhieß nichts Gutes. Der erste Satz von Gustav Mahlers Fünfter Sinfonie, die am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts entstand, setzte ein unheilvolles Vorzeichen an den Beginn des neuen Zeitalters: Ein Trauermarsch eröffnet das Werk – unheimlich, beklemmend und fast bar jener Attitüde des Heroischen, die noch der Trauermarsch zu Beginn von Mahlers Zweiter Sinfonie voller Pathos zur Schau gestellt hatte. Hier, im Kopfsatz der „Fünften“, herrscht eher die „wehleidige Pogromstimmung“, die Alma Mahler häufig in der Gemütsverfassung ihres Mannes zynisch konstatierte und die aus der Getto-Erfahrung seiner trostlosen Kindheit erwachsen war. Die ersten Hörer der „Fünften“ zeigten sich denn auch befremdet. „Nach dem Scherzo sogar einige Zischer“, notierte Mahler zur Uraufführung, die unter seiner Leitung am 18. Oktober 1904 in Köln stattfand.
Allein das Adagietto, der vierte Satz, fand von Anfang an den einhelligen Beifall von Publikum und Kritik.Die Neue Philharmonie Westfalen entstand 1996 aus der Fusion zweier Orchester des nördlichen Ruhrgebietes, dem Westfälischen Sinfonieorchester Recklinghausen und dem Philharmonischen Orchester der Stadt Gelsenkirchen. Träger des Orchesters sind neben dem Land Nordrhein-Westfalen die Städte Gelsenkirchen und Recklinghausen sowie der Kreis Unna.

Der Generalmusikdirektor der Neuen Philharmonie Westfalen Heiko Mathias Förster dirigiert als Gast auch regelmäßig mit Orchestern auf der ganzen Welt: Israel Symphony Orchestra, National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Orchestra del Teatro di Gran Liceo Barcelona oder Prager Symphoniker sind nur einige der Ensembles, bei denen Heiko Mathias Förster in den letzten Jahren am Pult stand.

Tracklist

I. section – TrauermarschII. section Scherzo

III. section

III. section – Rondo-Finale

Scroll Up