Markus Wagner – Suites for Violoncello Solo

Artists: Markus Wagner

Title: Suites for Violoncello Solo

Catalogue No.: SM 214

Release: 15.09.2014

Description

Apart from the early Baroque ricercari and didactic works like the études and capriccios of composers such as Duport, Dotzauer and Piatti, the repertoire for solo cello up to the Romantic period comprises only two works: Johann Sebastian Bach’s Six Suites BWV 1007-1012 (c. 1720) and Max Reger’s Three Suites op. 131c of 1914. While numerous works for solo cello have been written since Hindemith and Kodály, they are all clearly orientated around twentieth-century tonal language.

This CD presents the first recording of two original, very different and thus far unknown Romantic works for solo cello: Julius Klengel’s Suite in D minor op. 56 and Hugo Becker’s Fantastic Suite from the life of the woodland gnome op. 14. Both of these early twentieth century works represent the two leading cellists’ discovery of composing late in life. Like Paul Tortelier’s strongly Bach-oriented Suite in D minor, they are important additions to the cello repertoire. This year we celebrate with both composers anniversaries: Hugo Becker (150. year of birth) and Paul Tortelier (100. year of birth).

Markus Wagner has won prizes at several national and international competitions, including first prize at the Felix Mottl Competition in Munich in 1989, the Arts Bursary of the city of Augsburg in 1991, a medal at the Maria Canals Concours International de Musique in Barcelona in 1991 and a diploma at the Concours International d’Exécution musicale in Viña
del Mar, Chile in 1991.

In 1991 Markus Wagner became one of the youngest lecturers in Germany to be appointed to hold a cello major class at the Leopold Mozart Conservatory in Augsburg. After his appointment as professor in 2001, he moved to the Nürnberg College of Music in 2007.

Tracklist

HUGO BECKER
Fantastische Suite Op.14 (1919)*
JULIUS KLENGEL
Suite d-minor Op. 56 for Violoncello solo (1923)*
PAUL TORTELIER
Suite en ré mineur (1946)*

*Weltersteinspielung

Scroll Up

Markus Wagner – Suites for Violoncello Solo

Künstler: Markus Wagner

Titel: Suites for Violoncello Solo

Katalog Nr.: SM 214

Veröffentlichung: 15.09.2014

Produktbeschreibung

Abgesehen von frühbarocken Ricercaren und Lehrwerken, wie zum Beispiel Etüden und Capricen von Duport, Dotzauer oder Piatti, besteht das Repertoire für Violoncello solo bis zur Romantik nur aus zwei Werken: Johann Sebastian Bachs sechs Suiten BWV 1007-1012 (um 1720) und den drei Suiten von Max Reger op.131c von 1914. Zwar sind seit Hindemith und Kodaly nahezu unzählige Werke für Violoncello solo entstanden, allerdings orientieren sich alle diese Kompositionen deutlich an der Tonsprache des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Mit der vorliegenden CD wird das romantische Repertoire für Violoncello solo durch die Ersteinspielung von zwei bislang nicht entdeckten, höchst originellen und unterschiedlichen Werken erweitert: Julius Klengels Suite d-moll op. 56 und Hugo Beckers „Fantastische Suite“ op. 14 „Aus dem Leben des Waldschrat“. Beide Werke aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert können nicht nur als späte Entdeckung der Kompositionskunst zweier führender Cellisten ihrer Zeit gelten, sondern tragen, wie auch Paul Torteliers stark an Bach orientierte Suite
d-moll, maßgeblich zur Erweiterung des Kanons der Violoncello-Literatur bei. Dieses Jahr feiern wir gleich mit beiden Komponisten Jubiläen: Hugo Becker (150.Geburtsjahr) und Paul Tortelier (100.Geburtsjahr).

Markus Wagner ist Preisträger mehrerer nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe, unter anderem 1. Preis beim Felix Mottl Wettbewerb (München 1989), Kunstförderpreis der Stadt Augsburg (1991), Medaille beim Concurso International de Musique Maria Canals (Barcelona 1991) sowie Diplom beim Concours International d’Exécution Musicale (Vina del Mar, Chile 1991).

1991 wurde Markus Wagner als einer der jüngsten Dozenten in Deutschland zum Leiter einer Hauptfachklasse Violoncello an das Leopold-Mozart-Konservatorium in Augsburg berufen. Nach seiner Ernennung zum Professor 2001 wechselte er 2007 an die Hochschule
für Musik in Nürnberg.

Tracklist

HUGO BECKER
Fantastische Suite Op.14 (1919)*
JULIUS KLENGEL
Suite d-minor Op. 56 for Violoncello solo (1923)*
PAUL TORTELIER
Suite en ré mineur (1946)**Welt-Ersteinspielung
Scroll Up