Elena Moșuc – L’amore è poesia

Title: L Amore e Poesia – Vocalises for Soprano and Orchestra

Catalogue No.: SM 247

Release: 30.09.2016

Description

L’AMORE È POESIA (”love is poetry”) is a song cycle for soprano and orchestra, built around four vocalises and an orchestral interlude. The various pieces were written over the course of nearly a decade, and at very different stages of my life. But they all are connected with each other by the underlying theme set forth in the title.

The compositions feature a wordless soprano, even though I was urged by several of my friends to use a libretto at first. However, it occurred to me early on that the music could be vocal but without relying on words. Not only might a written text present a distraction for the audience, but even more so its rhythmic pattern would have interfered too much with the organic flow of the composition. Also, given the subject matter, I strongly felt that the music should speak for itself.

The pieces are written in a very lush romantic style, both lyrical in expression and epic in scale. At times notably nostalgic, sometimes opulent but never cloying. The soaring melodies are clearly a nod to the likes of Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Max Steiner, whose film music from the golden era of Hollywood has always been an inspiration.

This world premiere recording has been a long time in the making and I feel very fortunate to have received the generous support of so many incredibly talented people along the way: soprano Elena Moșuc is performing under the direction of conductor John Scott and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The recording took place at the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London.

Flavio Motalla, Los Angeles 2016

Tracklist

1 Canzonetta for Soprano and Orchestra 11:43 Flavio Mario Motalla
2 Poesia per una Sognatrice 11:50 Flavio Mario Motalla
3 Intermezzo 4:50 Flavio Mario Motalla
4 Le Départ 11:38 Flavio Mario Motalla
5 En Souvenir d’un Amour Perdu 11:49 Flavio Mario Motalla
Total 52:06
Scroll Up

Elena Moșuc – L’amore è poesia

SM247-NP0215-rz2Künstler: Elena Moșuc, Flavio Motalla

Titel: L’ Amore e Poesia – Vocalises for Soprano and Orchestra

Katalog Nr.: SM 247

Veröffentlichung: 30.09.2016

 

Produktbeschreibung

L’AMORE È POESIA („Liebe ist Poesie”) ist ein Liederzyklus für Sopran und Orchester, basierend auf vier Vokalisen und einem sinfonischen Zwischenspiel. Die einzelnen Stücke stammen aus ganz unterschiedlichen Phasen meines Lebens und wurden über einen längeren Zeitraum von fast zehn Jahren geschrieben. Dennoch bilden sie zusammen ein musikalisches Gesamtwerk, da ihnen allen das gleiche übergeordnete Thema zugrunde liegt.

Bei den Kompositionen handelt es sich um Vokalisen, d.h. Lieder ohne Worte. Zwar wurde mir anfangs von meinen Freunden geraten, ein Libretto zu verwenden, doch kam ich schon früh zum Schluss, dass ein Text den Zuhörer letztlich nur vom Inhalt der Musik ablenken würde, und der Rhythmus der Worte zu sehr in den natürlichen Verlauf der Komposition eingreift. Ich war und bin der Meinung, dass die Musik für sich selber sprechen sollte.

Die Stücke mit ihrem lyrischen Ausdruck und ihrer epischen Skala, manchmal nostalgisch, manchmal opulent, lassen keinen Zweifel an ihrem spätromantischen Ursprung. Die grossen, träumerischen Melodien sind bewusst eine Hommage an Komponisten wie Erich Wolfgang Korngold und Max Steiner, deren Filmmusik aus der Goldenen Ära Hollywoods für mich schon immer eine grosse Inspiration war.

Die vorliegende Uraufnahme ist das Resultat eines langwierigen Produktionsprozesses, und ich schätze mich sehr glücklich, dabei die grosszügige Unterstützung so vieler talentierter Menschen erhalten zu haben: Sopranistin Elena Moșuc singt unter der Leitung von Dirigent John Scott und dem Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Die Aufnahmen fanden in den legendären Abbey Road Studios in London statt.

Flavio Motalla, Los Angeles 2016

Tracklist

1 Canzonetta for Soprano and Orchestra 11:43 Flavio Mario Motalla
2 Poesia per una Sognatrice 11:50 Flavio Mario Motalla
3 Intermezzo 4:50 Flavio Mario Motalla
4 Le Départ 11:38 Flavio Mario Motalla
5 En Souvenir d’un Amour Perdu 11:49 Flavio Mario Motalla
Total 52:06
Scroll Up