Adam Mital – Olimpia Tolan: Central Europe

Title: Central Europe Works for Cello and Piano by Schubert, Dvorak, Janàcek, Martinu and Bartok

Catalogue No.: SM 153

Release: 12.09.2011

Description

This recording presents Schubert’s famous Arpeggione Sonata, together with several other works by Central European composers. The theme “Central Europe” thus threads right through. Why did I select this programme? Aside from my love for the works of Franz Schubert, I am particularly attracted by the music of central and eastern Europe.
Dvorák, Janácek, Martinu and Bartók composed a whole series of works for cello and piano. Fascinated by their tonal language, which was greatly influenced by the folk songs of their respective countries, I have long cherished the idea of recording these works.
The relationship of Schubert’s music to the works of these composers from the neighbouring countries is interesting in many respects. Apart from Prague and Budapest, Schubert’s city of Vienna is both geographically and culturally one of the important cultural centres of central Europe and Schubert’s work undoubtedly influenced the other composers. The programmatic transition from Schubert to Dvorák and then Janácek is of special interest, above all as far as the poetic statement of their works is concerned. Dvorák and Martinu represent Bohemia, Janácek Moravia and Bartók Hungary.This present recording therefore takes the listener on a journey through eastern Central Europe, from Vienna via Bohemia, Moravia and Slovakia to Transylvania.For me personally it also represents a review of the many years of musical collaboration with my wife Olimpia Tolan, for which I am immensely grateful.Adam Mital

Tracklist

Sonata a-minor, „Arpeggione –Sonata“  D821 – Franz Schubert 
Allegro moderato
Adagio
Allegretto
Klid (Silent Wood) op. 68/V – Antonín Dvořák 
Klid (Silent Wood) op. 68/V
Rondo op. 94 – Antonín Dvořák 
Rondo op. 94
Pohádka – Leoš Janáček 
Con Moto
Con Moto
Allegro
Presto – Leoš Janáček
Presto
Variations on a Theme of Slovak Folk Song – Bohuslav Martinů  
Thema – Poco Andante, rubato
Variation I – Moderato
Variation II – Poco Allegro
Variation III – Moderato
Variation IV – Scherzo, Allegretto
Variation V – Allegro
Romanian Dances (arranged by Z.Székely/A.Mital) – Béla Bartók 
I – Joc cu bâtă
II – Brâul
III – Pe loc
IV – Buciumeana
V – Poargă românească
VI – Mărunţel
Scroll Up

Adam Mital – Olimpia Tolan: Central Europe

Titel: Central Europe Works for Cello and Piano by Schubert, Dvorak, Janàcek, Martinu and Bartok

Katalog Nr.: SM 153

Veröffentlichung: 12.09.2011

Produktbeschreibung

Bei der vorliegenden Aufnahme findet der Zuhörer ein Programm, welches die berühmte Arpeggione-Sonate von Schubert mit mehreren anderen Werken mitteleuropäischer Komponisten verbindet. Das Thema „Mitteleuropa“ führt uns also durch die ganze Aufnahme. Weshalb diese Programmwahl? Nebst meiner Liebe zu den Werken Franz Schuberts bin ich mit der Musik Mittel- und Osteuropas besonders verbunden.
Dvořák, Janáček, Martinů und Bartók haben eine ganze Reihe von Werken für Violoncello und Klavier geschaffen. Fasziniert von deren Klangsprache, welche sich auch stark am Volksliedgut des jeweiligen Landes inspiriert hat, war mir eine Aufnahme des vorliegenden Programms schon ein länger gehegtes persönliches Vorhaben.
Der Bezug von Schuberts Musik zu den Werken dieser aus den Nachbarländern stammenden Komponisten ist von vielen Aspekten her interessant. Geografisch und auch kulturell ist Wien, die Stadt Schuberts, neben Prag und Budapest eine der wichtigen Kulturmetropolen Mitteleuropas und ohne Zweifel hat Schuberts Werk jene Komponisten in ihrem Schaffen auch geprägt. Der programmatische Übergang von Schubert zu Dvořák und dann Janáček ist, vor allem was die poetische Aussage ihrer Werke betrifft, von besonderem Reiz. Dvořák und Martinů stehen für Böhmen, Janáček für Mähren, Bartók schließlich für Ungarn.Mit der vorliegenden Aufnahme begeht der Hörer nun also eine Reise durch das östliche Mitteleuropa, von Wien über Böhmen, Mähren, der Slowakei bis schließlich nach Transsilvanien.
Für mich persönlich ist sie auch ein Rückblick auf die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit meiner Ehefrau Olimpia Tolan, was mich mit großer Dankbarkeit erfüllt.Adam Mital

Tracklist

Sonata a-minor, „Arpeggione –Sonata“  D821 – Franz Schubert
Allegro moderato
Adagio
Allegretto
Klid (Silent Wood) op. 68/V – Antonín Dvořák
Klid (Silent Wood) op. 68/V
Rondo op. 94 – Antonín Dvořák
Rondo op. 94
Pohádka – Leoš Janáček
Con Moto
Con Moto
Allegro
Presto – Leoš Janáček
Presto
Variations on a Theme of Slovak Folk Song – Bohuslav Martinů 
Thema – Poco Andante, rubato
Variation I – Moderato
Variation II – Poco Allegro
Variation III – Moderato
Variation IV – Scherzo, Allegretto
Variation V – Allegro
Romanian Dances (arranged by Z.Székely/A.Mital) – Béla Bartók
I – Joc cu bâtă
II – Brâul
III – Pe loc
IV – Buciumeana
V – Poargă românească
VI – Mărunţel
Scroll Up