Orsolya Korcsolán – Mosaic

Title: Mosaic

Catalogue No.: SM 150

Release: 03.01.2011

Description

As one who is devotedly and professionally committed to these ancient melodies over six decades, no words can express my overwhelming and emotional feelings listening to this vibrant and exceptionally talented young artist. Orsolya Korcsolan’s versatile artistry is unusual in quality, emotional warmth and in brilliant movement tempered with dignity. Certainly her skill and talent put her amongst the truly great young violinists of her generation.

This album will indeed be a unique addition to the collectors of classical music who appreciate genuine performing arts.

Cantor Moshe Stern

All but one of the composers represented on this disc were Jewish and all were born in Europe. Some remained there throughout their lives, often suffering the persecution of the Jews which was virtuallyendemic until it reached its ultimate depravity under the Nazis, while others fled, some to safer European countries but most across the Atlantic to the USA.

Vienna-based violinist Orsolya Korcsolan is one of the most versatile classical musicians of her generation. Discovered at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and supported throughout her early carrier by Sir George Solti, praised by TIME magazine journalist Jeremy Caplan, the Juilliard alumna won numerous awards in New York before settling in the heart of the European music world. He technical command and warm, compelling sound, combined with her spirit and elegant stage presence, have captured audiences around the word since her debut in New York`s Paul Hall.

Tracklist

01 Three Jewish Dances – Marc Lavry
02 Abodah (God’s Worship) – Ernest Bloch
03 Dance of the Rebbitzen – George Perlman
04 The Chassid – Julius Chajes
05 Baal Shem Suite (Three Pictures of Chassidic Life) – Ernest Bloch
06 Rozhinkes mit Mandlen (Raisins and Almonds) – Abraham Goldfaden
07 Danse Hébraique – Josef Bonime
08 Hebrew Rhapsody – Lazare Saminsky
09 Mélodie Hébraique – Issay Alexandrovitch Dobrowen
10 Kaddish – Maurice Ravel, transcription for violin and piano by Lucien Garban
11 Oyfn Pripetshok (At the Fireplace) – Mark Warshawsky
Scroll Up

Orsolya Korcsolán – Mosaic

Künstler: Orsolya Korcsolán

Titel: Mosaic

Katalog Nr.: SM 150

Veröffentlichung: 03.01.2011

Produktbeschreibung

Seit über sechs Jahrzehnten beruflich und voller Hingabe mit diesen uralten Melodien befasst, finde ich keine Worte, die meine überwältigenden Gefühle zum Ausdruck bringen könnte, wenn ich diese großartige und ungemein talentierte junge Musikerin höre. Orsolya Korcsolans vielseitige Kunst ist von außergewöhnlicher Qualität, emotionaler Wärme und in ihrer Virtuosität von Würde gemäßigt. Mit ihren Fähigkeiten und ihrem Talent zählt sie gewiss zu den wahrhaft großen Violinistinnen ihrer Generation.

Dieses Album wird eine einzigartige Bereicherung sein für Liebhaber klassischer Musik, die echte darstellende Künste zu schätzen wissen.

Kantor Moshe Stern

Alle auf dieser CD vorgestellten Komponisten, ausgenommen Maurice Ravel, waren jüdischer Herkunft und Europäer. Einige von ihnen verbrachten in Europa ihr ganzes Leben und mussten nicht selten unter der Judenverfolgung leiden, die zurzeit des Nationalsozialismus ihren schrecklichen Höhepunkt fand, während andere in sicherere europäische Länder oder, wie in den meisten Fällen, über den Atlantik in die Vereinigten Staaten flohen.

Die in Wien lebende Violinistin Orsolya Korcsolán ist eine der vielseitigsten klassischen Musikerinnen ihrer Generation. Von Sir George Solti auf dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival entdeckt und zu Beginn ihrer Karriere protegiert, außerdem hoch gepriesen von Jeremy Caplan im Time magazine, wurde die Juilliard-Absolventin mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, ehe sie sich im Herzen der europäischen Musikwelt niederließ. Ihr technisches Vermögen und der warme, bezwingende Klang ihres Spiels, kombiniert mit ihrem Esprit und einer eleganten Bühnenpräsenz, fesseln seit ihrem Debüt in der New Yorker Paul Hall das Publikum weltweit.

Tracklist

01 Three Jewish Dances – Marc Lavry
02 Abodah (God’s Worship) – Ernest Bloch
03 Dance of the Rebbitzen – George Perlman
04 The Chassid – Julius Chajes
05 Baal Shem Suite (Three Pictures of Chassidic Life) – Ernest Bloch
06 Rozhinkes mit Mandlen (Raisins and Almonds) – Abraham Goldfaden
07 Danse Hébraique – Josef Bonime
08 Hebrew Rhapsody – Lazare Saminsky
09 Mélodie Hébraique – Issay Alexandrovitch Dobrowen
10 Kaddish – Maurice Ravel, transcription for violin and piano by Lucien Garban
11 Oyfn Pripetshok (At the Fireplace) – Mark Warshawsky
Scroll Up