Nikolai Tokarev – Alexander Rosenblatt: Tokarev plays Rosenblatt

Title: Tokarev plays Rosenblatt

Catalogue No.: SM 137

Release: 19.07.2010

Description

The music of Alexander Rosenblatt combines classical forms and methods with jazzy vintage features (harmonies, rhythms, melodic lines). Anchored as it is in the classical tradition, his music cannot be considered a “jazzy stream”. Rosenblatt’s key message to performers of his music is: ”Please don’t pretend you are jazz PLAYERS!” Whatever the genre (sonata, fantasy, instrumental concerto etc) Rosenblatt’s music always reveals a highly romantic approach.

The two good friends Tokarev and Rosenblatt make music already for a very long time with one another. For the first time here Tokarev plays on this CD both Rosenblatt’s own compositions and its already several times highly praised arrangements. Rosenblatt is also an excellent pianist, as we can hear on the track “Concertino on Two Russian Themes for 4 hands“, which he plays together with Nikolai Tokarev.

In April 2007, Nikolai Tokarev released his first piano recital featuring works by Schubert, Chopin and Alexander Rosenblatt. He received the German Echo Classical 2008 award as Best Newcomer (piano). On his current CD Nikolai Tokarev plays the Piano Concerto in A minor by Grieg and the Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor by Chopin.

Tokarev about the track „Paganini’s Variations“: The pianist must have a distinct, precise feeling for rhythm when playing this work, even in the slow variation, for example, where a degree of free phrasing is allowed. I hope that everyone who listens to the work will derive similar pleasure to that of the performer playing it. I am absolutely sure that these Variations bear comparison with such famous compositions based on themes by Paganini such as those by Liszt, Brahms and Rakhmaninov.

Tracklist

01 Gipsy Fantasy after Monti – Rosenblatt
02 Concertino on Two Russian Themes for 4 hand – Rosenblatt
03 Paganini’s Variations – Rosenblatt
04 Sonata for Cello and Piano – Rosenblatt
05 Piano Sonata Nr. 3 – Rosenblatt
06 Two Fragments from the ballet suite “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” – Rosenblatt
07 Waltzing with Hartmann (after Mussorgsy) – Rosenblatt
Scroll Up

Nikolai Tokarev – Alexander Rosenblatt: Tokarev plays Rosenblatt

Titel: Tokarev plays Rosenblatt

Katalog Nr.: SM 137

Veröffentlichung: 19.07.2010

Produktbeschreibung

Die Musik von Alexander Rosenblatt kombiniert klassische Formen und Spielweisen mit Merkmalen des Jazz (Harmonien, Rhythmen und Melodien). Weil verwurzelt in der klassischen Tradition, kann seine Musik allerdings nicht als “jazzig” bezeichnet werden. Rosenblatt rät den Interpreten seiner Musik: “Bitte, tut nicht so, als wäret ihr Jazzmusiker!” Rosenblatts Musik – ob Sonate, Fantasie, Instrumentalkonzert o.a. – lässt stets einen sehr romantischen Ansatz erkennen.

Die beiden guten Freunde Tokarev und Rosenblatt musizieren schon sehr lange miteinander. Zum erstenmal spielt hier Tokarev auf einer CD sowohl Rosenblatt’s eigenen Kompositionen als auch seine bereits mehrfach hoch gelobten Arrangements. Dass Rosenblatt auch ein ausgezeichneter Pianist ist, kann man im Stück „Concertino on Two Russian Themes for 4 hands“ hören, das er zusammen mit Nikolai Tokarev spielt.

Im April 2007 veröffentlichte Nikolai Tokarev sein erstes Klavier-Recital mit Werken von Schubert, Chopin und Alexander Rosenblatt. Für das Album erhielt er den Echo Klassik 2008 als bester Nachwuchskünstler (Klavier). Im September 2008 erschien sein französisches Album mit Ravel, Debussy, Rameau und César Franck. Im Sommer 2009 folgte eine CD mit Klavierkonzerten von Grieg und Chopin, eine Live-Aufnahme mit dem Luzerner Sinfonieorchester unter Leitung von Olari Elts.

Tokarev über die „Paganini’s Variations“ von Rosenblatt: Der Interpret muss ein ausgeprägtes, präzises Rhythmusgefühl haben, wenn er dieses Stück spielt, auch in der langsamen Variation, die ein gewisses Maß an freier Phrasierung zulässt. Ich hoffe, dass alle, die dieses Werk hören, ebenso viel Vergnügen daran finden wie der Interpret, und bin mir absolut sicher, dass diese Variationen den Vergleich nicht zu scheuen brauchen mit jenen berühmten Paganini-Themen variierenden Kompositionen von Liszt, Brahms und Rachmaninow.

Tracklist

01 Gipsy Fantasy after Monti – Rosenblatt
02 Concertino on Two Russian Themes for 4 hand – Rosenblatt
03 Paganini’s Variations – Rosenblatt
04 Sonata for Cello and Piano – Rosenblatt
05 Piano Sonata Nr. 3 – Rosenblatt
06 Two Fragments from the ballet suite “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” – Rosenblatt
07 Waltzing with Hartmann (after Mussorgsy) – Rosenblatt
Scroll Up