Markus Lehmann-Horn

Markus Lehmann-Horn was born in 1977 in Munich, Germany. From 1984 he took piano lessons, in addition to guitar lessons, but initially specialized in guitar and electric guitar. After graduation in 1996 Lehmann-Horn worked as a freelance guitarist, played numerous studio recordings and concerts with various ensembles and as a guest musician and wrote his first compositions. From 2003 he studied composition for film and television at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Munich, from 2007 he began the master class in composition with Heinz Winbeck in Würzburg, which he completed successfully.

Lehmann-Horn’s compositions have already been awarded several times: in 2009 he got u.a. the Gerhard Schedl Music Theater Prize of the “Neue Oper Wien”, 2010 the Berlin Opera Prize, 2011 the prestigious Paul Hindemith Prize. Lehmann-Horn was a scholarship holder of the Free State of Bavaria in 2015 at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris, as well as a 2016 winner of the 6th Brandenburg Biennale.

As a border crosser between the classical and the techno-electronic music world, he wrote numerous film music compositions for national and international film productions and was, among others, awarded the Franz Grothe Prize in 2009. He has received multiple nominations and a Best Film Score award at the annual international “Jerry Goldsmith Award” in Spain, as well as a nomination for the International Emmy in 2012.

In 2012, the extremely successful premiere of the opera “Woyzeck 2.0” with the “Neue Oper Wien” took place at the Vienna Chamber Opera. In December 2013, the new choral work “Sonat Vox Laetitiae” premiered with the Windsbacher Knabenchor, in February 2014 the award-winning drumming concert “Rot …” with the NDR Radiophilharmonie premiered in Hanover with great success. In March 2016, Lehmann-Horn’s first symphony “Verloren in Wien” (Lost in Vienna) premiered during the 6th Brandenburg Biennale under the direction of Peter Gülke.

Lehmann-Horn’s music is played by renowned orchestras, conductors and ensembles, including the Ensemble Triolog, Minguet Quartet, BR Rundfunkorchester, the NDR Radiophilharmonie or the Schleswig Holstein Festival Orchestra.

Markus Lehmann-Horn lives with his family in Starnberg near Munich.

www.markuslehmannhorn.de

Discography

Scroll Up

Markus Lehmann-Horn

Markus Lehmann-Horn wurde 1977 in München geboren. Ab 1984 nahm er Klavierunterricht, daneben Gitarrenunterricht, spezialisierte sich aber zunächst auf Gitarre und E-Gitarre. Nach seinem Abitur 1996 arbeitete Lehmann-Horn als freischaffender Gitarrist, spielte zahlreiche Studioaufnahmen und Konzerte mit verschiedenen Ensembles und als Gastmusiker und schrieb erste Kompositionen. Er studierte ab 2003 Komposition für Film und Fernsehen an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München, ab 2007 begann er die Meisterklasse im Fach Komposition bei Heinz Winbeck in Würzburg, die er mit Erfolg abschloss.

Lehmann-Horns Kompositionen wurden bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet: 2009 bekam er u.a. den Gerhard Schedl Musiktheaterpreis der „Neuen Oper Wien“, 2010 den Berliner Opernpreis, 2011 den renommierten Paul-Hindemith-Preis. Lehmann-Horn war 2015 Stipendiat des Freistaates Bayern an der Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris, sowie 2016 Preisträger der 6. Brandenburger Biennale.

Als Grenzgänger zwischen der klassischen und der technisch-elektronischen Musikwelt schrieb er zahlreiche Filmmusik-Kompositionen für nationale und internationale Filmproduktionen und wurde dafür u.a. mit dem Franz-Grothe-Preis 2009 ausgezeichnet. Er erhielt mehrfache Nominierungen und eine Auszeichnung für die beste Filmmusik beim jährlichen internationalen „Jerry Goldsmith-Award“ in Spanien sowie eine Nominierung für den International Emmy 2012.

2012 erfolgte die äußerst erfolgreiche Uraufführung der Oper „Woyzeck 2.0“ mit der „Neuen Oper Wien“ in der Wiener Kammeroper. Im Dezember 2013 kam das neue Chorwerk „Sonat Vox Laetitiae“ mit dem Windsbacher Knabenchor zur Uraufführung, im Februar 2014 wurde das prämierte Schlagzeugkonzert „Rot…“ mit der NDR Radiophilharmonie mit großem Erfolg in Hannover uraufgeführt. Im März 2016 wurde Lehmann-Horns erste Sinfonie „Verloren in Wien“während der 6. Brandenburger Biennale unter der Leitung von Peter Gülke uraufgeführt.

Lehmann-Horns Musik wird von renommierten Orchestern, Dirigenten und Ensembles gespielt, darunter das Ensemble Triolog, Minguet Quartett, BR Rundfunkorchester, die NDR Radiophilharmonie oder das Schleswig Holstein Festival-Orchester.

Markus Lehmann-Horn lebt mit seiner Familie in Starnberg bei München.

www.markuslehmannhorn.de

Diskographie

Scroll Up