EOS Guitar Quartet – Live

Title: “Live”

Catalogue No.: 234200-12

Release: 09.02.2018

Description

It doesn’t take much to image that the material on this CD could be an initiative launched by Swiss diplomats. A Swiss guitar quartet playing compositions by a Cuban and a American. For many years, relations between Cuba and the USA were not particularly friendly – until Barack Obama opened a new era of diplomacy between the two nations in 2016. As a neutral country, Switzerland has often erved as an intermediary between the United States and other countries.

But this is not about diplomacy. The Eos Guitar Quartet often performs works by Leo Brouwer and Ralph Towner and has commissioned these artists to compose original music for the quartet. Everyone knows and appreciates each other. And as a highly specialized chamber music ensemble, the Eos Guitar Quartet naturally tries to help expand the repertoire for such a formation.
This Performance of Gismontiana is a live recording of a concert featuring the Eos Guitar Quartet together with the Musikkollegium Winterthur conducted by composer Leo Brower. The Concert took place in the Stadthaus Winterthur, Switzerland.

Tracklist

Gismontiana Egberto Gismonti (*1947)/Leo Brouwer (*1939)
1 Frevo 5’18” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
2 Água e Vinho 6’41” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
3 Baião Malandro 5’23” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
4 A Fala da Paixão 7’20” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
5 Cadenza 4’09” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
6 Loro 5’37” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
Confluence Ralph Towner (*1940)
7 Waltz 7’30” Ralph Towner
8 Slow 5’18” Ralph Towner
9 Allegro 7’32” Ralph Towner
Scroll Up

EOS Guitar Quartet – Live

Künstler: EOS Guitar Quartet

Titel: “Live”

Katalog Nr.: 234200-12

Veröffentlichung: 09.02.2018

Produktbeschreibung

Es braucht nicht besonders viel Phantasie, um hinter dem Programm dieser CD eine Offensive der Schweizer Diplomatie zu vermuten. Ein Schweizer Gitarrenquartett spielt Werke eines Kubaners und eines Amerikaners. Kuba und Amerika standen sich ja über Jahrzehnte nicht besonders freundschaftlich gegenüber, bis Barack Obama 2016 eine neue Ära der kubanisch-amerikanischen Beziehungen einläutete. Als neutrales Land hat die Schweiz in solchen Situationen auch für die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika oft Vermittlerarbeit geleistet. Aber um Diplomatie geht es hier mitnichten.

Das Eos Guitar Quartet hat immer wieder Werke von Leo Brouwer und Ralph Towner gespielt, und auch beiden Künstlern Kompositionsaufträge erteilt. Man kennt und schätzt sich gegenseitig. Und als hochspezialisierte Kammermusikformation versucht das Eos Guitar Quartet natürlich auch ganz selbstverständlich etwas zur Erweiterung des Repertoires für eine solche Besetzung beizutragen.

Diese CD ist eine Live-Aufnahme eines Konzerts mit dem Eos Guitar Quartet zusammen mit dem Musikkollegium Winterthur unter der Leitung des Komponisten Leo Brower. Das Konzert fand im Stadthaus Winterthur in der Schweiz statt.

Tracklist

Gismontiana Egberto Gismonti (*1947)/Leo Brouwer (*1939)
1 Frevo 5’18” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
2 Água e Vinho 6’41” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
3 Baião Malandro 5’23” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
4 A Fala da Paixão 7’20” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
5 Cadenza 4’09” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
6 Loro 5’37” Egberto Gismonti/Leo Brouwer
Confluence Ralph Towner (*1940)
7 Waltz 7’30” Ralph Towner
8 Slow 5’18” Ralph Towner
9 Allegro 7’32” Ralph Towner
Scroll Up