Alicja Smietana – Works by Bach, Gould, Previn, Pärt

Artists: Alicja Smietana

Title: Works by Bach, Gould, Previn, Pärt

Catalogue No.: SM 176

Release: 15.10.2012

Description

At first sight it is quite unlikely to consider the four composers presented to you here as strongly connected. Different places, different times, different backgrounds and different composing techniques should be enough to mean that in fact they have very little or nothing in common. For me though it is much more than a mere presentation of different sides and faces of “classical”music. These are variations on the subject of my most precious inspirations and the music that I have most loved from as early as I can remember. It is all filled with various paradoxes and contradictions but deep down it remains very consistent.
All of the composers presented to you here are very strongly connected by a masterful organization of the sound material, their multi-instrumental approach and very far-reaching independence from colouristic conditions that offer unlimited possibilities to both performers and listeners.It is not important though how much information about the pieces of music there is “available”.
Born in 1983 in Krakow, Poland Alicja Smietana performs works from Bach to Contemporary music with – what was described by San Francisco Chronicle as – “Extraordinary brilliance and sensibility…”. Winner of numerous competitions and awards (including First Prize at the Israeli International Competition, Brahms Society Award and support from sir Georg Solti Foundation) Alicja studied at the Krakow Academy of Music in Poland with Mieczyslaw Szlezer and later on moved to study at the Kronberg Academy in Germany with Christian Tetzlaff and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London with David Takeno, Ofer Falk and Sven-Arne Tepl on viola.

Tracklist

 “Two Little Serenades” (for Itzhak Perlman) Andre Previn
Noah 04:48
Naava 05:22
“Sonata for violin and piano” (arrangement for violin by Alicja Smietana) Glenn Gould
Moderato 02:03
Vivace – Fuga 03:44
Largo 03:10
“Partita in d-minor BWV 1004” Johann Sebastian Bach
Allemanda 05:06
Corrente 02:34
Sarabanda 04:08
Giga 03:48
Ciaccona 14:24
“Spiegel im Spiegel” Arvo Pärt
“Spiegel im Spiegel” 09:56
Total 0:58:09
Scroll Up

Alicja Smietana – Works by Bach, Gould, Previn, Pärt

Künstler: Alicja Smietana

Titel: Works by Bach, Gould, Previn, Pärt

Katalog Nr.: SM 176

Veröffentlichung: 15.10.2012

Produktbeschreibung

Auf den ersten Blick spricht wenig dafür, die vier hier vorgestellten Komponisten in eine engere Beziehung zu setzen. Allein die Lebensdaten, Hintergründe oder Kompositionstechniken könnten unterschiedlicher kaum sein. Für mich ist diese Zusammenstellung aber viel mehr als die bloße Präsentation unterschiedlicher Seiten und Gesichter der “klassischen” Musik. Es sind Variationen über das Thema meiner kostbarsten Inspirationen und der Musik, die ich, seit ich denken kann, am meisten liebe. All das steckt voller Paradoxien und Widersprüche, bleibt aber tief im Inneren sehr konsequent.

Allen Ihnen hier vorgestellten Komponisten eignet eine meisterliche Organisation ihres Klangmaterials, der multi-instrumentelle Ansatz und eine sehr weit reichende Unabhängigkeit von Tonfarben, was sowohl den Interpreten als auch den Zuhörern unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten bietet. Es kommt also überhaupt nicht darauf an, was an Informationen über die Musikstücke “zur Verfügung” steht.

Geboren 1983 in Krakau, Polen Alicja Smietana hat Werke von Bach bis zur zeitgenössischenMusik im Programm – was von San Francisco Chronicle als “außergewöhnliche Brillanz und Sinnlichkeit…”. beschrieben wurde – Sie ist Gewinner zahlreicher Wettbewerbe und Auszeichnungen (darunter den ersten Preis beim israelischen internationalen Wettbewerb, Brahms Society Award und die Unterstützung von Sir Georg Solti Foundation) Alicja Smietana studierte an der Musikakademie Krakau in Polen mit Mieczyslaw Szlezer und zog später zum weiteren Studium an die Kronberg Academy in Deutschland wo sie mit Christian Tetzlaff und der Guildhall School of Music und Drama in London mit David Takeno, Ofer Falk und Sven-Arne Tepl auf Bratsche studierte.

Tracklist

“Two Little Serenades” (for Itzhak Perlman) Andre Previn
Noah 04:48
Naava 05:22

“Sonata for violin and piano” (arrangement for violin by Alicja Smietana) Glenn Gould
Moderato 02:03
Vivace – Fuga 03:44
Largo 03:10

“Partita in d-minor BWV 1004” Johann Sebastian Bach
Allemanda 05:06
Corrente 02:34
Sarabanda 04:08
Giga 03:48
Ciaccona 14:24

“Spiegel im Spiegel” Arvo Pärt
“Spiegel im Spiegel” 09:56

Total 0:58:09

Scroll Up