Véronique and Romain Nosbaum

Véronique Nosbaum is a very special personality in Luxembourg vocal scenery. She is one of those naturally involved in many kind of art creation – contemporary art , theatre, literature, singing. A graduate in Modern French Literature from the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg soprano studied singing with Greta de Reyghere in Liège before taking classes with Monique Zanetti, Mireille Kayser and Hubert Weller, as well as masterclasses with Sylvia Geszty, Klesie Kelly and Norman Shetler. After a scholarship at the Pisa Opera House she assumed solo roles in operas of Gluck, Mozart and Purcell in Pisa, Lucca and Liège, and in contemporary productions at the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, where she is a regular collaborator. Véronique Nosbaum, whose repertoire focuses on ancient and contemporary music, performs at festivals and in concert halls throughout Europe. A skilled singer-actress, she is also frequently asked to work with theatre companies.

Romain Nosbaum is an individualist among the pianists of his generation. Without airs and graces, but with modesty and passionate devotion, he is solely focused on music. Both the grand gesture and sheer brilliancy are not his main focus – instead, his playing stands out through intelligence, subtle individuality and technical perfection.
A universal interest in ‘tradition and innovation’ expresses itself not only soloistically, but also through his activities as a passionate chamber musician. Thus, he regularly performs as a accompanist with vocal artists such as his sister Véronique.
Musicality was literally put into the cradle of Swiss-born Nosbaum. His grandmother, who was also a pianist, met artists such as Alfred Cortot or Clara Haskil and performed under the direction of Felix Weingartner. Nosbaum started to play the piano at the age of 7 and completed his studies at the conservatories of the City of Luxembourg and Metz. Advanced studies led him to the City of Basel Music Academy, the conservatory of Bern, and to the Mozarteum University of Salzburg.
In recitals, as a soloist as well as a chamber musician, Nosbaum’s concerts have led him throughout Europe and Russia to East Asia. His solo recordings have received critical acclaim and were especially praised for both the personal interpretation of the romantic repertoire and his sense for contemporary music and the varied shaping of it. After two self-published solo albums (2010/2014), he recorded the integral piano works of the composer Albena Petrovic for the label GEGA new in 2016. In 2017 he released his solo CD Encores under the label ARS Production.

Discography

Scroll Up

Véronique und Romain Nosbaum

Véronique Nosbaum ist eine ganz besondere Persönlichkeit in Luxemburgs Vokallandschaft. Sie ist eine der Künstlerinnen, die in vielerlei Hinsicht künstlerisch tätig ist – zeitgenössische Kunst, Theater, Literatur, Gesang. Die luxemburgische Sopranistin studierte an der Sorbonne moderne französische Literatur und Gesang bei Greta de Reyghere in Lüttich, bevor sie Unterricht bei Monique Zanetti, Mireille Kayser und Hubert Weller nahm, sowie Meisterkurse bei Sylvia Geszty, Klesie Kelly und Norman Shetler besuchte. Nach einem Stipendium an der Oper von Pisa übernahm sie Soloauftritte in Opern von Gluck, Mozart und Purcell in Pisa, Lucca und Lüttich und in zeitgenössischen Produktionen im Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, wo sie bis heute regelmäßig mitarbeitet. Véronique Nosbaum, deren Repertoire sich auf antike und zeitgenössische Musik konzentriert, tritt auf Festivals und in Konzertsälen in ganz Europa auf. Als gelernte Sängerin und Schauspielerin wird sie auch häufig gebeten, mit Theatergruppen zu arbeiten.

Romain Nosbaum ist ein Individualist unter den Pianisten seiner Generation. Ohne Umschweife, aber mit Bescheidenheit und leidenschaftlicher Hingabe konzentriert er sich ausschließlich auf Musik. Weder die große Geste als noch pure Brillanz stehen für ihn im Vordergrund – stattdessen zeichnet sich sein Spiel durch Intelligenz, subtile Individualität und technische Perfektion aus.
Ein universelles Interesse an “Tradition und Innovation” drückt sich nicht nur solistisch, sondern auch durch seine Tätigkeit als passionierter Kammermusiker aus. So tritt er regelmäßig als Begleiter von Vokalkünstlern wie seiner Schwester Véronique auf.
Musikalität wurde dem in der Schweiz geborenen Künstler buchstäblich in die Wiege gelegt. Seine Großmutter, die ebenfalls Pianistin war, traf auf Künstler wie Alfred Cortot oder Clara Haskil und trat unter der Leitung von Felix Weingartner auf. Nosbaum begann im Alter von 7 Jahren Klavier zu spielen und schloss sein Studium an den Konservatorien der Stadt Luxemburg und Metz ab. Weiterführende Studien führten ihn an die Musikhochschule der Stadt Basel, das Konservatorium Bern und an das Mozarteum Salzburg.
Seine Konzerte führten Nosbaum sowohl als Solist als auch als Kammermusiker durch ganz Europa und Russland bis nach Ostasien. Seine Solo-Aufnahmen wurden von der Kritik gefeiert und besonders gelobt für die ganz persönliche Interpretation des romantischen Repertoires, sowie sein Gespür für zeitgenössische Musik und deren abwechslungsreiche Gestaltung. Nach zwei selbst veröffentlichten Soloalben (2010/2014) nahm er 2016 das integrale Klavierwerk der Komponistin Albena Petrovic für das Label GEGA neu auf. 2017 veröffentlichte er seine Solo-CD Encores unter dem Label ARS Production.

Discografie

Scroll Up