Sonja & Astrid Leutwyler

Sonja Leutwyler: mezzo soprano

Sonja Leutwyler was born in Zurich. She studied viola and singing at the Zurich College of the Arts and the Munich College of Music and Drama with Maria de Francesca-Cavazza, Christian Gerhaher and Helmut Deutsch. While still studying, she sang roles including Sesto, Larina and Dorabella at such venues as the Prinzregententheater of Munich.

She was engaged as a soloist for four years at the Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz in Munich, where she sang major roles for her voice type. Further engagements have taken her to the Margravial Opera House of Bayreuth, the Cuvilliés Theatre in Munich, the TeatroComunale di Bologna and the Zurich Opera House. She recently sang a lead role in the opera Kein Licht (no light) by Philippe Manoury staged by l’Opéra-Comique in Paris and has made guest appearances at the National Theatre of Zagreb and the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg.

As a concert soloist, Sonja Leutwyler performs with renowned orchestras including the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the Munich Radio Orchestra under Ulf Schirmer, the Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra, the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra and the SWR Symphony Orchestra under Helmuth Rilling. She is a popular guest at major festivals including the Richard Strauss Festival of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the Festival of Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, the Beethoven Festival of Bonn, the Stuttgart Music Festival and the St Martin-in-the-Fields concert series in London. She also regularly appears at the Zurich Tonhalle and the Vienna Konzerthaus.

Being a versatile singer, Sonja Leutwyler is much sought after for her performances of contemporary works. At the Prinzregententheater in Munich, she portrayed a lead role in Elliott Carter’s opera What Next?with the Munich Radio Orchestra. She appeared as the soloist in the opening concert of the “Wien Modern” series with the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and she performed works by Luigi Nono on a tour of Italy under the baton of Roberto Abbado. She recently enjoyed great success in performances of Berio’s Folk Songs in numerous Swiss concert halls.

Highlights of the last three years include Mendelssohn’s Walpurgis Night at the Rheingau Music Festival with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestraunder Andrés Orozco-Estrada, concerts and CD recordings with the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra at the Vienna Konzerthaus, a solo recital of arias by Haydn and Vivaldi with Camerata Zurich at the Zurich Tonhalle, CPE Bach’s Magnificat with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra under the baton of Diego Fasolis and a song recital at Tonhalle Maag in Zurich.

www.sonjaleutwyler.com

Astrid Leutwyler: violin

Astrid Leutwyler is an artist of our times: an inspirational, charismatic violinist, competent orchestral player and chamber musician. Her musical interests are very wide-ranging.
From 2007 till 2011, she was deputy leader and a section leader of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra and, on several occasions in 2011, she led the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra. From 2009 till 2014, Astrid Leutwyler played first violin in Orchestra Mozart Bologna under the baton of Claudio Abbado. For the 2014/15 season, she was appointed deputy section leader in Düsseldorf and played in the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra and the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. Further invitations have led her to the Munich Chamber Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Lucerne Festival Orchestra.
Nowadays, Astrid Leutwyler regularly plays in the Tonhalle Orchestra of Zurich, the Zurich Chamber Orchestra and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra of Munich.
She won the coveted Küsnacht Arts Prize in 2009 and was a prizewinner in the ORPHEUS Swiss Chamber Music Competition and the Schwerin International Competition of Ostracised Music.
As a chamber musician she has performed in Switzerland and abroad at such venues as the Zurich Tonhalle, the Lucerne Culture and Convention Centre (KKL), the MarianischerSaal in Lucerne, Kultur Casino Bern and St Martin-in-the-Fields in London. Astrid Leutwyler has appeared as a guest at major festivals including the Lucerne Festival, the Salzburg Festival, Settimana Musicale in Siena, Bolzano Festival Bozen, the Max Reger Festival in Weiden and the Aigues-VivesenMusiques festival in southern France.
Astrid Leutwyler has made live concert recordings for German and Swiss radio stations. She also appeared as a violinist in Amos Gitaï’s film Lullaby to my Father.
Born in Zurich in 1984, she completed her Master of Arts in Performance and Music Pedagogy and her advanced studies in Stuttgart, Zurich and London with Hanna Weinmeister, Judith Ingolfsson, Andreas Janke and David Takeno. She has received valuable inspiration from Rachel Podger and Giuliano Carmignola. She has also studied with the Belcea Quartet and the Vogler Quartet.
Astrid Leutwyler is enthusiastically involved in the promotion of the arts and founded the Orchestra of Europe in 2011. She has successfully directed her own series of concerts, titled Klassikfestival Küsnacht, since 2017.

www.astridleutwyler.com

Discography

Scroll Up

Sonja & Astrid Leutwyler

Sonja Leutwyler                                                     

 Sonja Leutwyler wurde in Zürich geboren. Sie studierte Viola und Gesang an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München bei Maria Cavazza, Christian Gerhaher und Helmut Deutsch. Noch während des Studiums sang sie u.a. am Prinzregententheater München Partien wie Sesto, Larina und Dorabella.

Vier Jahre war sie als Solistin am Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz München engagiert und sang die großen Partien ihres Fachs. Weitere Engagements führten sie ans Markgräfliche Opernhaus Bayreuth, ans Cuvilliés-Theater München, ans Teatro Comunale di Bologna und ans Opernhaus Zürich. Kürzlich sang sie in einer Produktion der Opéra Comique Paris eine Hauptpartie in der Oper “Kein Licht“ von Philippe Manoury und gab Gastspiele am Nationaltheater Zagreb und am Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg.

Als Konzertsolistin tritt Sonja Leutwyler mit namhaften Orchestern wie z.B. den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester unter der Leitung von Ulf Schirmer, dem Arctic Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Zürcher- und dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester und dem SWR Symphonieorchester unter der Leitung von Helmut Rilling auf. Sie ist gern gesehener Gast an bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Richard Strauss Festival Garmisch-Partenkirchen, den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, dem Beethovenfest Bonn, dem Musikfest Stuttgart sowie an den St.Martin-in-the-Fields concert series London und tritt regelmäßig in der Tonhalle Zürich und im Wiener Konzerthaus auf.

Sonja Leutwyler ist als vielseitige Sängerin ebenfalls sehr gefragt für ihre Interpretationen zeitgenössischer Werke. Am Prinzregententheater München war sie in einer Hauptpartie in Elliot Carters Oper “What Next“ mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester zu erleben. Mit dem RSO Wien sang sie als Solistin am Eröffnungskonzert der Reihe “Wien Modern“ und mit Werken von Luigi Nono war sie auf einer Italien-Konzertreise unter der Leitung von Roberto Abbado. Kürzlich gestaltete sie mit großem Erfolg Berios “Folksongs“ in zahlreichen Konzertsälen der Schweiz.

Höhepunkte der letzten drei Jahre waren Mendelssohns Walpurgisnacht am Rheingau Musik Festival unter der Leitung von Andrés Orozco-Estrada mit dem hr-Sinfonieorchester, Konzerte und CD-Aufnahme mit dem RSO Wien im Wiener Konzerthaus, einen Soloabend mit Arien von Haydn und Vivaldi mit der Camerata Zürich in der Tonhalle Zürich, CPE Bachs Magnificat mit dem Zürcher Kammerorchester unter der Leitung von Diego Fasolis, sowie einen Liederabend in der Tonhalle Maag Zürich.

www.sonjaleutwyler.com

Astrid Leutwyler

Astrid Leutwyler ist eine Künstlerin unserer Zeit: Eine inspirierende, charismatische Geigerin, kompetente Orchestermusikerin und Kammermusikerin. Sie verfügt über ein breites und facettenreiches musikalisches Interesse.

Von 2007-2011 war sie stellvertretende Konzertmeisterin und Stimmführerin im Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester und wurde 2011 mehrmals als 1. Konzertmeisterin bei den Bamberger Symphonikern engagiert. 2009-2014 war Astrid Leutwyler erste Geigerin im Orchestra Mozart Bologna unter der Leitung von Claudio Abbado. Für die Spielzeit 2014/15 wurde sie als stellvertretende Stimmführerin nach Düsseldorf berufen und spielte bei den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern und der Deutschen Oper am Rhein. Des Weiteren folgten Einladungen beim Münchner Kammerorchester, Mahler Chamber Orchestra und Lucerne Festival Orchestra.

Heute spielt Astrid Leutwyler regelmäßig im Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, im Zürcher Kammerorchester und im BR Rundfunkorchester München.

Sie ist Gewinnerin des begehrten «Küsnachter Kulturpreises 2009», Preisträgerin des «ORPHEUS Swiss Chamber Music Competition» und des «Internationalen Interpretationswettbewerbs Verfemte Musik Schwerin».

Als Kammermusikerin konzertierte sie im In- und Ausland, u.a. in der Tonhalle Zürich, im KKL Luzern, im Marianischen Saal Luzern, im Kulturcasino Bern, sowie in St. Martin-in-the Fields in London. Astrid Leutwyler gastierte an bedeutenden Festivals wie dem Lucerne Festival, den Salzburger Festspielen, der Settimane Musicale in Siena, dem Bolzano Festival Bozen den Max Reger Tagen in Weiden und dem Festival Aigues-Vives en Musiques in Südfrankreich.

Live-Konzertaufnahmen wurden beim Südwestdeutschen Rundfunk, Bayrischen Rundfunk und beim Radio SRF 2 Kultur gemacht. Als Geigerin trat Astrid Leutwyler in Amos Gitaï’s Kinofilm «Lullaby tomy Father» auf.

1984 in Zürich geboren, absolvierte sie ihre musikalische Ausbildung den Master of Arts in Performance und Music Pedagogy sowie das Konzertexamen in Stuttgart, Zürich und London bei Hanna Weinmeister, Judith Ingolfsson, Andreas Janke und David Takeno. Prägende Anregungen gewann sie zudem bei Rachel Podger und Giuliano Carmignola. Darüber hinaus erhielt sie Unterricht beim Belcea Quartett und dem Vogler Quartett.

Begeistert widmet sich Astrid Leutwyler auch dem Kulturmanagement und gründete 2011 das Orchestra of Europe. Mit Erfolg leitet sie seit 2017 ihre eigene Konzertreihe «Klassikfestival Küsnacht».

www.astridleutwyler.com

Diskographie

Scroll Up