Hans Dietrich Klaus – Nerine Barrett: J. Brahms, Hans Gal

Titel: J. Brahms, Hans Gal – Sonaten für Klarinette und Klavier

Katalog Nr.: C 130052

Veröffentlichung: 11.03.1998



The sonatas written by Brahms late in his life for the Meiningen clarinetist Mühlfeld are well known and have been recorded many times. What makes this release interesting is the coupling of the Brahms works with the Sonata by the Hungarian Hans Gál, Brahms adoring biographer and a Viennese composer in his own right.


Sonata for clarinet and piano F minor op. 120 No. 1 – Johannes Brahms

01  Allegro appassionato
02  Andante un poco Adagio
03  Allegretto grazioso
04  Finale: Vivace

Sonata for clarinet and piano op. 84 (1965) – Hans Gal

05  Allegro moderato
06  Andantino
07  Adagio – Allegro con spirito

Sonata for clarinet and piano E flat major op. 120 No. 2 – Johannes Brahms

08  Allegro amabile
09  Allegro
10  Vivace

Sonata in E flat majorfor oboe, harp and double bass BWV 1031 – Johann Sebastian Bach

11  Allegro amabile
12  Allegro Appassionato – Sostenuto – Tempo I
13  Andante con moto – Allegro